Brief History of Lutheran Church, Lakdikapool, Hyderabad

A new state of Andhra Pradesh was formed in 1956 with Hyderabad as its capital. Many Lutheran families relocated to Hyderabad in 1956 .A few members who wanted Lutheran liturgy started a Lutheran worship at Methodist Boys High School .This worship was inaugurated by Dr A.N Gopal .This marked the genesis of present Lutheran church in early 1960’s.

Dr Fedrick Neuoderffer, Executive Secretary of the Board of World Missions of the Lutheran church in America visited the church and with the help of Dr Clark C Fry, President of Lutheran church in America, secured funds for purchasing the present land and building for Rs.1,20,000/- in 1962.

With a generous contribution from the members of church an amount of Rs. 50000/- was raised to remodel the old building into a nativity church.

During the same time Lutheran worship service was conducted at Sanathnagar.

Since the church commenced worship at this place four pastors served as parish pastors from 1962 to 1986.

  • Late Rev T.Joseph
  • Late Rev Bhushan Rao
  • Late Rev Lam Charles for 11 years 1965-70 & 1979-85.
  • Late Rev B.Sundara Rao.

The congregation grew during these years and continued the worship through various wings like Women’s samaj, Youtheran, Sunday school. All the wings were constantly supported by the Pastor, Parish church council and elders.

Subsequent to Late Rev B.Sundara Rao a few pastors worked for this church and during the tenure of Rev D.V Daniel a Church development fund was started with a sum of Rs. 10000/- donated by his friend Dr Adolf.

After the tenure of Rev D.V Daniel upon the direction of President AELC , Late Rev Ch Yesupadam joined as parish pastor.

With a coordinated and sincere effort by Parish pastor, PCC, elders and the congregation the construction of the present church building was taken up and dedicated on 30-09-1990.

The dedication of this church was conducted by

  • Late Rev Dr. K.Nathaniel, President AELC
  • Late Rev Lam Charles, Vice President AELC
  • Late Sri M. Rajakishore, Seceratary AELC
  • Rev Ch.Yohan, President Central Guntur synod AELC
  • Late Rev Ch Yesupadam, Parish Pastor.

Rev Ch Yesupadam, Parish Pastor in his remarks has noted that “ the unique feature of this congregation that springs to my mind is the most fundamental doctrine of christainity i.e sharing and giving. It is also apt and wholesomely justified to say that this congregation is the best in AP and in AELC also.”

Since then Rev B.C Paul, Rev G.S Vijayakar, Rev Elia, Rev Lam Vara Kumar, Rev David Raju, Rev Samuel Raju, Rev B.C Paul served the church. Rev D.Yesuratnam has been Parish Pastor since July’2013.

Under the guidance of Lutheran church at Lakdikapool ,17 congregations are established around the twin cities of Hyderabad and Secunderabad.Some of these congregations have constructed their churches.

Our endeavor is to establish churches and spread Gospel to all.

Click Andhra Kristava Keerthanalu and Aradhana Kramam and download for your personal and corporate worship. File courtesy of Mr Sudhakar Donipati.

Latest Posts


Latest Events

Contact us

Saifabad, Lakdikapool,
Behind Ravindra Bharati,

Locate us